Muslim Mom Summer Clothes

April 20, 2008 at 11:49 am 7 comments

I need playclothes!  Playclothes are those items you changed into when you returned home from school as a child.  Your mom told you, “take off your school clothes and put on some play clothes.”  Clothes just for playing.  I need play clothes.

I find that that it is nearly impossible to dress by Islamic Muslim modesty standards and be really comfortable.  Most western summer clothes are not modest.  I spend hours at stores, and on-line looking for loose, summer-weight long sleeve tee shirts.  I found long sleeve t-shirts that were either too heavy or too thin and tight.  This is very frustrating.  So frustrating that I am now thinking of making my own.  To take a pair of regular t-shirts and sew them together so that the sleeves and hem line are both longer.  I know I must be getting desperate because I don’t even know how to sew!  Last year I bought nurses scrubs.  They were loose, comfortable and cool.  They clean up very easily and require no ironing!  I loved them, but they were all short sleeved.  Appropriate for my backyard play with the kids but this year I don’t have a private backyard. 

To be fair, I found tunics and kurtas of summerweight.  However I don’t particularly like playing in those items.  (And never would I do so in an abaya or jelbab.)  So nothing offered on any of the on-line Muslim clothing stores was really what I was looking for…. I did find one store that sold very cute Muslimah t-shirts that were long, light, pretty and loose.  But the store was in Malaysia and the shipping estimate alone was $40.00.  Too much for a shirt I plan to wear to the park and get dirty in!

I wonder what do other Muslim mom’s do for summer “playclothes”?  If you have any suggestions or know of any great websites please let me know.  Meanwhile I’ll probably still be out shopping and praying to find something suitable.

Entry filed under: 1. Tags: , .

FLDS Moms Summer clothes for my daughter

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sienna40  |  April 26, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    i feel you I am having the same problem sister. I have a sewing machine and I’m working on using it. i found a place that may work for you but they didn’t have my size.
    http://www.justlongshirts.com/LongTees/black_accent_tee.php
    click on tees. they aren’t cheap but they are perfect. wish they had my size.

    Reply
  • 2. Burqini  |  June 30, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Salaam Aleykum

    Slightly off topic, but just to let you know sister, Hijab Swimwear is available from modestswimsuits.co.uk

    So you can go play in the swimming pool with your babies., Insh’Allah

    International Shipping available

    Wa-salaams

    Reply
  • 3. Nini Razali  |  April 23, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Salam Sister,

    Feel free to visit my website at http://www.zohhawear.com. We produce a range of Muslimah t-shirts for leisure or shall I name it as ‘play clothes’. The products are all knee-length using t-shirt material. By the way, we operate our business in Malaysia but we do send some stocks to Riyadh and Canada.

    We are actually looking for Zohha resellers where the stocks are bought based on COD by the resellers. The resellers will be given some discount percentage based on the quantity taken. And you may then sell to your friends or neighbours or colleagues.

    Feel free to drop me some e-mails if you are interested to purchase my products or if you wish to become a reseller.

    Jazakallah.

    Nini @ ZohhaWear

    Reply
  • 4. caftan luxe  |  January 30, 2015 at 11:41 pm

    Hi there, everything is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing
    data, that’s in fact good, keep up writing.

    Reply
  • 5. Anah  |  June 6, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    Just saw this post years after, since I was looking for the same thing. I checked out JustLongShirts.com and they have a few long sleeve modest t-shirts perfect for Muslimah’s/Muslim Mom’s looking for play clothes. I checked this sizing and they have from small – 2XL.

    Reply
  • 6. Anah  |  June 6, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    Just saw this post years after, since I was looking for the same thing. I checked out
    http://www.JustLongShirts.com

    and they have a few long sleeve modest t-shirts perfect for Muslimah’s/Muslim Mom’s looking for play clothes. I checked this sizing and they have from small – 2XL.

    Reply
  • 7. busana muslim dewasa  |  April 28, 2016 at 8:56 am

    Good post. I’m dealing with a few of these issues as well..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

