My daughter’s hijab

April 14, 2008 at 9:17 am 1 comment

My four year daughter old does not wear hijab.  (On the upside my two year old son is always trying to put on mine  LOL).  I wonder am I doing the right thing?  What is the proper way to prepare a girl to wear hijab in this country.  I do understand the difficulty of wearing hijab.  Yesterday while walking to the park with my children, a passerby yelled at me to “go back to my country.”  This is my country I would love to have yelled back…(along with some other things).  I have been told to my face, that I would be hired for the job if only I would I be willing to consider removing it.  I equate hijab as a minor jihad, because it is almost that difficult and you could be attacked from anywhere for wearing it.

So how do I prepare my daughter to wear hijab?  I try to find pretty ones that she will enjoy wearing.  Unfortunately there is no “Dora the Explorer” hijab, as she has requested. (She has also requested a “Dora the Explorer” prayer rug.) I find that they do not make hijabs in pretty pinks, and yellows and pastels that would appeal to very young girls.  I purchased a beautiful pink fabric that she picked out herself along with some beads and sequins and together we decorated it and made a beautiful hijab for her to wear…but where?  To the zoo, to the park, to the museum, these are her “hang-outs.  Ironically when we wear it to the masjid, it magically comes off in the first twenty minutes.  I never force her to put it back on her head.  I let her wear it until she is naturally tired of it.  I want her to get used to wearing her hijab because she wants to before she wears it because she has to.  I figure we have plenty of time.

My husband feels the opposite.  He feels that if we start her wearing it now, it will be a habit she keeps all of her life.  This is the same opinion shared by another Sister at the masjid, who has her infant daughter in hijab.  Every time I see this baby her head is covered, and her khimar  pinned around her neck.   I feel that yes children this young will develop the habit.   But the habit doesn’t remove the discomfit you feel when obscenities are yelled at you.  Or the feeling of isolation when a cup of coke is thrown at you from a moving car while you wait at the bus stop, something that happened to a pregnant friend of mine.

I want her to wear hijab because she has come to the conclusion on her own that this is required by Allah.  And so she wears it out of love for Allah and a desire to please Him.  So I feel my first step is to teach her to love Allah and to want to please Him.  But am I going about this the wrong way…Hmmm I still wonder.

Entry filed under: 1. Tags: , , , , .

playgroup fun FLDS Moms

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. baju muslim keke  |  June 15, 2015 at 5:50 am

    wonderful put up, very informative. I wonder why the opposite experts of this sector do not notice this.
    You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you have a great readers’
    base already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

